Transfers Week! (The last pages of Chapter One, now for Chapter Two!)

こんにちわ!Hello, everybody! How are you all doing in your various locations? I am doing quite well here in Miykonojo, Japan!

This is the last week of my first transfer! We will be receiving transfer calls today, which means that I do not yet know whether I will be going or staying. It makes it interesting for everybody’s Mother’s Day calls home, not knowing where we are going to be when we get to call, but I’m sure we’ll figure it out. Also, you may have noticed that this email is a day later than usual. I did not know this last week (which, if I had, I would have been able to prevent the worry that I am certain Mom has been going through since I did not email at the usual time; sorry, Mom!), but apparently during transfer weeks we have Preparation Day (e-mail day) on Tuesday instead of Monday, which means that every six weeks my email will be a day later than usual.

This week has been great! This past Sunday evening Elder Jensen and I biked out to the house of Miki chan’s parents, which is about 30 minutes away. We had not met them yet, and Miki chan was a bit concerned with us meeting her parents (she thought her mother might bite our heads off), so we approached the house with some trepidation, not knowing what to expect. By the way, I don’t remember whether I mentioned this in a previous email: we tried visiting them about two weeks ago but they were not at home, so we left a small chocolate cake (which I had made), some pamphlets that we use in our teaching, and a short note on their doorstep. We had received word since then that the cake had been eaten and they were reading the pamphlets, so that was good news. However, Miki chan’s worries about her mother’s potential reaction were still very present in our minds.

Anyway, as we were standing next to our bikes (praying as a companionship in preparation for our meeting with them), somebody drove up to pick up the father, who subsequently departed. We approached the door, not knowing what to expect, knocked, and Miki chan’s mother answered. We talked with her a bit, and (as Elder Jensen describes her) she is one of the nicest people we’ve ever met (which is definitely saying something in Japan, because almost everybody is extremely polite here). We were able to clarify her concerns about Miki chan being baptized, and quickly discovered that her concern does not have anything to do with the Church’s teachings, but rather whether Miki chan wants to join the church for the right reason; her mother is concerned that she may want to be baptized simply because she is dating the son of a very strong family (the Kuroki family, who recently moved out of the ward) and just wants to please them by being baptized. That is a very valid concern for a good mother to have. We were a bit startled, I think, because Miki chan’s mother was not turning out to be at all like Miki chan had feared she would be (I think Miki chan may have been a bit too fearful and uncertain of how her parents would react, but that’s okay). We taught her mother about testimonies, and invited her to ask Miki chan to share hers with her parents so that they can truly understand that their daughter does believe and want to be baptized. It was a great meeting, and hopefully we will be able to go back sometime. Also, hopefully we will be able to receive permission to baptize Miki chan soon (we’ll see if I am still here…).

This past Wednesday we met with Kawauchi san at her house again, and she fed us even more than last time! So much food! It was not sushi/sasshimi this time, but instead she provided some meats and gyoza that we cooked on a hot plate in the middle of the table. It was very delicious! We also had a very good lesson with her in which we talked about families. She is a very nice elderly lady.

Dad, thanks for the light switch parable! It was very good! (Maybe someday you can help Hyrum learn how to wire a light switch).

Kimmie, keep providing Hyrum opportunities to learn about faith! 🙂

Grandma, don’t work too hard! But keep making friends. 🙂

Mom, I did not feel the Tokyo earthquake, but I probably will have an opportunity to feel earthquakes before my mission ends (those tend to happen in this country).

Lacey, congratulations to Michael for his internship!

Ryan, it’s nice to hear that you are having great missionary experiences. Keep up the good work!

Kyle, keep being a super awesome missionary! I pray for you all the time!

Isaac, keep being a great, hard-working example! I love you!

Sounds like there is a lot going on in our family! I am glad that everybody is hard at work.

I wish I had more time. No time for pictures this week; maybe next week!. I love you all! Have a great day, a wonderful week, and a superb year!

Love,

Elder Madsen

Leave a Reply

