An Interesting Week

こんにちは! How is everybody doing in their various locations? I am doing quite well here in 都城、日本 (Miyakonojo, Japan)!

This week has been quite interesting. There were many times when our plans fell through (because somebody wasn’t home that we were going to try to visit, we had to do something else, etc.), but we were able to see many miracles, as well. One of those happened on 水曜日 (Wednesday), when we went to visit a sort-of-former investigator, the Aratake 夫婦 (couple), an 80~year-old couple that Jensen 長老 met back in 二月 (February) with his previous 同僚 (companion). Jensen 長老 and I had visited with them a couple times, but they were not progressing so we were considering dropping them. However, they live a fair distance from our apartment, and because we became quite busy with other activities we were unable to make a final "drop-or-not" visit; hence they were a "sort-of-former" investigator, since we had not officially dropped them. Anyway, back to this week’s events: as I mentioned, we 自転車を乗りました (rode our bicycles) out there on 水曜日。 When we arrived we were able to meet with the husband, and talked with him for a while. His wife was not there; apparently she has been 入院 (hospitalized) since the last time we met with them. His 足は病気 (legs are ill), so it is difficult for him to do various tasks that require locomotion. We said that we would love to do 奉仕 (service), and he actually said we could! (Nobody ever accepts our offer to help). That was a miracle! Unfortunately, when we arrived the following day to do service he was not at home. 残念 (unfortunate)! However, we are going to return with a member (Uchima 兄弟) this 水曜日 to see what we can do.

*Just as an aside: I don’t remember, but I may have mentioned the Aratake 夫婦 in a previous email. They have a ネコ (cat) named Alma.*

There were many other miracles, but that is all I have time to write about!

On 金曜日 (Friday) we had 面接 (interviews) with Gustafson 会長 and training from Gustafson 会長 his Assistants. It was wonderful! I definitely learned a lot about how I can improve. I think the biggest thing I learned from training is the importance of preparing properly for each investigator personally. I have been studying and preparing for investigators, but I realized the importance of really thinking about and pondering each investigator’s needs, and focusing my studies and those things that will help them most. However, that said, over the past few days I have been trying to change my studies completely, but I realized this morning as I was studying "How to Study and Prepare" (Chapter 2 in Preach My Gospel) that I don’t have to change the format of my studies – I don’t need to drastically adjust the way that I study – I just need to continue studying while focusing my thoughts more on how to help the people I teach.

Essentially, I just need to continually become more Christ-like. 🙂

This morning during 同僚勉強 (companion study), I also learned a much easier – and most likely much more effective – way to introduce the モルモン書 to people: just read from it!

I am so grateful for all of my wonderful leaders, especially for my great companion! I have learned a lot over the past several months with Jensen 長老, and it has been a great experience. I can hardly believe that it is already 九月 (September), and the 5th week of this transfer! Next week will be transfer calls again! How time flies.

I know that this is the work of the Lord! While it may be difficult at times, it is eternally worth it!

I love you all! Have a wonderful day, a great week, and a superb year!

Love,

マドセン 長老
Elder Madsen

pictures!

First, some interesting pictures Jensen 長老 drew during a recent train ride:

Kagoshima (where we had our interviews and training). The church is on the top of a mountain; it is quite a hike.

Our Monday Night Volleyball activity:

And last (but not least!), a large Sprite float!

Leave a Reply

