“Is this kid a member?”

こんにちは! How is everybody doing in their various locations? I am doing quite well here in 清水、日本 (Shimizu, Japan)!

This week has been superb! On Friday I did a split working with Elder Braswell (while Elders Gonzalez and Oshima worked together), and we saw so many miracles! I think one of the biggest miracles is when we met a really cool kid who, as we were talking with him, both Elder Braswell and I were wondering, "Is this kid a member?" We stopped him on the street and asked if he had ever seen American missionaries before, and he had – in fact, apparently he has previously received all of the lessons and has been to church at the stake center a couple times! At first we were going to give him a pamphlet, but he already has all of them, so we started introducing the Book of Mormon… but he has that as well (and, although he has not yet read all of it, he said that he has read a lot of it)! Unfortunately, he was too busy with school, karate, etc. (whatever else Japanese students do) to set up another appointment to meet, but we gave him a flyer with our phone number and asked him to call if he has time. We were really wondering whether he wasn’t a member, and just pretending not to be…it was almost too good to be true (but we are fairly certain that he is not a member, just a really cool miracle)!

Another great miracle is that I was able to find everywhere I needed to go without Elder Gonzalez leading the way. Hooray!

I know that as we strive to do what the Lord asks of us, He will always provide a way for us to accomplish His work. One of the things I have been thinking quite a bit about lately is the many blessings/miracles that the Lord gives to us. As I have been studying through the scriptures, I have seen many instances where somebody has prayed to the Lord to receive a specific blessing, which they receive in addition to so much more. For example, after Lehi tells his sons about his vision of the Tree of Life, Nephi decides that he also wants to see what his father saw. However, the Lord not only blesses him with seeing the vision, but also with its interpretation… and then after that Nephi is allowed to see the future of his people… and then after that he sees everything that John the Revelator saw. The Lord is so willing to bless us!

Because of the time difference we watch General Conference a week later, so we will be watching it this coming Saturday and Sunday. I am very excited! I love Conference so much! This will be my second time watching Conference in 日本.I can hardly believe it has already been six months. How time flies!

Yesterday we were going to have another typhoon, but apparently it died out when it hit the bottom of Kyushu (the southernmost of Japan’s main islands, which is the one I currently live on). Apparently a volcano erupted on Honshu (the largest of Japan’s main islands, on which Tokyo is located). I didn’t hear much more than that, though.

I know that this is the Lord’s work. I love it!

I love all of you so very much! Thank you for your examples; you are so wonderful! Have a wonderful day, a superb week, and fantastic year!

Love,

マドセン 長老
Elder Madsen

p.s. I do not remember when daylight savings time ends (it does not exist in Japan). Can somebody remind me? Thank you!

p.p.s. I will continue to pray for Grandma Koetitz. I know that prayer is powerful, and helps us align ourselves with God’s will. I have been working on making my prayers more meaningful lately, and have definitely seen an improvement. Prayer is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

