Transfers; Breaker

Hello, everybody! How are you all doing in your various locations? I am doing quite well here in Japan!

This week has been quite superb. I received an unexpected call on Friday. It was Elder Bloomfield (one of the Assistants to the President; he was also my first Zone Leader; and in a couple days he is going the way of all the earth), and his voice informed me that I will be training next transfer! So, I had a trainers’ training meeting yesterday with President and Sister Gustafson and the Assistants to the President, during which I learned many great things and discovered that I will actually be “breaking” (meaning my new companion has been here for one transfer, so I will be continuing his training this transfer), and I will also be transferring! I will be going to Shimonoseki, which is on the southern tip of the main Japan island of Honshu (it’s where the tunnel connects from Honshu to Kyushu).

I hope that I can be a good trainer; I have a lot of things to improve. I definitely know that the things which were taught apply not only to the new missionaries, but also to those of us who have been out for a while, as well. Lately I have definitely been realizing my weaknesses more clearly, which has caused me to reflect on my intentions and seek to improve. I particularly sometimes struggle with overcoming some of the fears associated with missionary work, and am grateful for the reminder that I received during training that the Spirit cannot coexist with fear. I know that as I rely on the Lord He can strengthen me and help me overcome whatever fears may be preventing me from feeling the Spirit in abundance. It is certainly difficult, but because of the Atonement it is possible. I love the Savior!

Last week we met with our investigator Yoshinaga twice. She has a baptismal date set for June 20th. Yesterday while I was at the training meeting, the other elders met with another of our
investigators Uchida and set another baptismal date with him as well.

Sorry this week’s email is a bit shorter. We are going sightseeing with a member today, and will be leaving soon. I will try to send pictures next week (of our sightseeing and of my new area)!

I am grateful for this opportunity to be the Lord’s instrument at this time. I know that if I keep myself well honed the Lord can use me for whatever purpose He needs.

I love you all! Have a great day, a wonderful week, and a superb year!

Love,

Elder Madsen

p.s. Apparently the Mother’s Day skype picture from last week did not show up. Here it is:

Leave a Reply

