Comings and Goings

Hello, everybody! How are you doing in your various locations? I am
doing quite well here in Japan!

As I mentioned last week, we had transfers! Elder Klein has departed
(he is now in Oita). I was sad to see Elder Klein leave; my new
companion is Elder Whisenant, and I am excited to be working with him!
He is a superb missionary.

We had a lesson with Miyamura (our 84-year-old investigator). She is
doing very well! Previously we had invited her to read from the Book
of Mormon, and she read a little bit but since her eyesight is not
what it once was it is a bit difficult for her to read the small
characters. So, during our lesson we read most of the introduction
with her and taught about the Restoration as we read along, and then
invited her to read Moroni 10:3-5 on her own. When she came to church
yesterday she had copied down the verses into larger type on a
separate sheet of paper so that she could read it better. We also
copied the introduction into larger characters so that she could read
that as well. Today we will see if Daiso carries a magnifying glass
that we can give her, which will hopefully help.

This week President and Sister Gustafson will be returning home and
our new Mission President and his wife, President and Sister Egan,
will be arriving. My younger brother (currently serving in Brazil)
will also be going the way of all the earth, and then my trainer Elder
Jensen will follow at the end of this transfer (along with about
thirty other people in our mission)! These are somewhat sad times, but
I am grateful to know that there is life after death! πŸ™‚ I knew that
this time would come, but it’s hard to believe it has come so quickly.
Soon enough I will be the one departing (but I try not to think about
that too much).

I know that this is the Lord’s work! It is wonderful!

I hope that you all have a wonderful day, a great week, and a super
awesome year!

Love,

γƒžγƒ‰γ‚»γƒ³γ€€ι•·θ€
Elder Madsen

Pictures!

The first picture was taken in the evening, so it’s a bit grainy. Left to right:
Miyamura, Elder Klein, me

The second picture is just before Elder Klein left from the train station, and I realized we did not have a picture of us four Shimonoseki missionaries. Left to right, back to front: Elder Johnson, Elder Gass, me, Elder Klein

Leave a Reply

