Training

Hello, everybody! How are you all doing in your various locations? I am doing quite well here in Shimonoseki, Japan!

This week has been quite wonderful! Two of our investigators Fukatani and Tanaka are both progressing very well. They each are working toward baptism, and actually have the same goal – October 24th. Fukatani always has questions to ask us, and previously those questions seemed to be generated from worries over points of doctrine – why God has asked us to do/not do some things, and even though we were usually able to answer her questions her worries still seemed unsatisfied. However, as she has been sincerely reading through the Book of Mormon her questions have gradually changed from worries to honest inquiries seeking after truth and understanding of what she has read. It has yielded a significant change in her; she seems a lot happier and a lot more willing to act on what she learns, and her heart is truly changing.

This transfer is quickly coming to an end; today we will receive transfer calls again. I do not yet know whether I will stay or go, nor who my new companion will be, but I received a phone call on Friday morning informing me that the Lord has again called me to serve as a trainer – this time for a newly-arrived missionary (last time I trained I was "breaking" Elder Klein, meaning that it was his second transfer in Japan and I was completing the training that his first companion had begun). Yesterday I attended trainers’ training meeting, and even though I feel completely inadequate for the responsibility I know that as I trust in the Lord, have faith, and seek to do His will I can be the trainer that the Lord needs me to be – and in small measure begin to approach the type of trainer that the Lord is. I know there will be many difficulties, but I know that I can do it right as long as I remain close to the Lord!

We saw many other great miracles this week – too many to fully expound here, but I am happy as I see the Lord work miracles in peoples’ lives every day. It is rather incredible how many miracles go unnoticed! The Lord loves us so much. It is amazing how much He loves us! One of the things that I am learning more about God is how much He loves to bless His children. God is always happy when we recognize and express thanks for the blessings we receive from Him, but the funny thing is that He immediately blesses us even more for expressing gratitude to him! And above that He is constantly showering blessings we don’t even notice. Heavenly Father is so wonderful!

Elder Whisenant and I have also found great enjoyment in singing the gospel to our Heavenly Father’s children. It is a great instrument in inviting the Spirit into the lives of those who are not afraid to listen, and God loves good music, too!

As I have been studying in Preach My Gospel lately, I have been focusing on learning how to teach simply. My favorite quote is found in chapter 10, by John Taylor who said, "It is true intelligence for a man to take a subject that is mysterious and great in itself, and to unfold and simplify it so that a child can understand it." Most of the people that we teach truly are children in the gospel, and as we teach simply they will be able to understand the message and feel the Spirit.

I am grateful to be the Lord’s servant. He truly leads this work! Despite my inadequacies, I know that through the Atonement I can overcome whatever difficulties, temptations, and trials that I face, and I know that everybody else can, too!

I hope you all have a wonderful day, a superb week, and a fantastic year!

Love,

マドセン 長老
Elder Madsen

Leave a Reply

