“May Christ Lift Thee Up”

Hello, everybody! How are you all doing in your various locations? I am doing quite well here in Hofu, Japan!

It’s been a short three days since my last email, and I can’t think of any particularly significant events that have taken place since then, so this might be a little shorter. However, I suppose that leaves more time for me to share some personal thoughts this week, which is nice.

For the past while as I have been studying the scriptures I have been focusing on how to be a better teacher – in other words, what did great teachers in the scriptures do that made them so great? In my recent scripture studies I read a man’s letter to his son detailing the perverse wickedness that had engulfed his people and was dragging them down to destruction. However, at the close of that letter he says this:

“My son, be faithful in Christ; and may not the things which I have written grieve thee, to weigh thee down unto death; but may Christ lift thee up, and may his sufferings and death, and the showing his body unto our fathers, and his mercy and long-suffering, and the hope of his glory and of eternal life, rest in your mind forever.

“And may the grace of God the Father, whose throne is high in the heavens, and our Lord Jesus Christ, who sitteth on the right hand of his power, until all things shall become subject unto him, be, and abide with you forever.”

As I read this I thought of many of the difficulties that we or those we love may go through. Those difficulties, if we allow them, could potentially “weigh [us] down unto death”. However, Christ is always there, reaching out, wanting to lift us up. As we continually place our thoughts on Christ we will be lifted up out of death and despair, for there is nothing that Christ has not overcome.

I know that this is the Lord’s work, and I love it!

I hope you all have a wonderful day, a superb week, and a fantastic year!

Love,

Elder Madsen🙂
マドセン長老😊

#ASaviorIsBorn

Leave a Reply

